View Poll Results: Have you had this problem, or similar?

Voters
3. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    1 33.33%
  • No

    2 66.67%
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: No Ring

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default Re: No Ring

    Quote Originally Posted by VOIPuser View Post
    Double NAT increases security.?.
    No, not really. NAT was created to artificially add more IP addresses, since IPv4 is running out quickly.

    One can argue that NAT adds a layer of "obfuscation" (difficulty by complexity), but NAT is only a trivial obstacle for any hacker that has already penetrated a network to that point.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: No Ring

    I chose the simple solution of plugging the gateway into a plain switch and my two ATAs into that switch. One still does not hear a busy signal when a called line is in use.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default Re: No Ring

    I didn't see it mentioned previously that you have 2 ATAs. Make sure all the registrations are using different ports, or they can conflict and you'll get a variety of errors.

    Try using each ATA separate, one at a time, to see if they can work by themselves, or if they are conflicting with each other.

    Best solution would be to use a single voip device, with 2, 4, 8 lines, instead of 2 or more separate ATAs.

    But if one works by itself, and the other doesn't, you may have a bad ATA.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: No Ring

    I am using what was sent me. I'd be glad to exchange these for one 8-port.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    355

    Default Re: No Ring

    I don't think voipo offers an 8 port device.

    This forum is great for getting tips from other users, but I think your case is beyond that.

    You probably need to open a support ticket to speak directly with someone at voipo.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: No Ring

    Never helped before. Not likely now.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: No Ring

    Here's a possibility. I am looking at the Grandstream HT814. It would give me the combined four ports of my current two HT702's. It would give me WAN and LAN ports. I would plug its WAN port into the Calix Access Point setup in Bridge mode. I would plug the LAN port into a Switch for computers and other things connected to the Internet.

    Question 1. Is the HT814 a good item and compatible with VOIPO?

    Question 2. Is this considered a good setup?

    Question 3. Will I still have two ports per phone number (I have two) with 814 as I have with the two 702's?

    Thanks.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •